John Pombe Magufuli Sworn in for the Second Term as the President of Tanzania.

The swearing-in ceremony of John Pombe Magufuli as the president of Tanzania was held today in Dodoma, Tanzania. His second term will run from the year 2021-2025.

Magufuli took the oath of presidency in a ceremony that was attended by several dignitaries including Zanzibar’s President Hussein Ali Mwinyi, Former Tanzanian Presidents Ali Hassan Mwinyi and Jakaya Kikwete, Zimbabwe President Emmerson Mnangagwa, Burundi’s Prime Minister Alaine Bunyoni, Botswana’s VP Slumber Tsogwane and Mozambique Prime Minister Carlos Agostinho do Ros├írio.

Kenya was represented by Cabinet Secretary in the Ministry of East African Community and Regional development Adan Mohammed, and Interior CAS Hussein Dado.

“Mimi, John Pombe Magufuli nitatimiza kazi kwa bidii na moyo mkunjufu bila uoga, upendeleo wala chuki. (I John Pombe Magufuli, vow to serve Tanzanian citizens diligently without fear, favour or hate).”

Magufuli was re-elected last week where he garnered 12.5 million (votes-84 per cent of the votes cast) against Opposition Leader Tundu Lissu’s 13 per cent which was 1.9 million votes.

His deputy will be Samia Suluhu Hassan.